Our network

Deal honors Georgia's fallen service members | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Deal honors Georgia's fallen service members
Deal honors Georgia's fallen service members

ATLANTA -- Governor Nathan Deal has honored Georgia's members of the armed forces who gave their lives in service to the United States.

Last week, he paid special tribute to 22 service members who lost their lives fighting for Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan and Operation Iraqi Freedom.

All members were killed in action since last year's ceremony.

"Today, we commemorate these fallen heroes for their courage and sense of honor, for their service and for their love of this nation and our most cherished principles," Deal said. "They have given their lives in defense of freedom, and we owe them our deepest respect and gratitude. But even more, we owe them our allegiance to the principles that they gave so much for -- freedom, justice and equality. This ceremony is a time to recommit ourselves to those high ideals."

Lt. Col. Kevin Jarrard of Gainesville's Riverside Military Academy gave the keynote address at this Memorial Day celebration.

The 22 fallen soldiers are:

Air Force
* Sept. 21, 2010: SrA. Michael Buras, Fitzgerald

* June 1, 2010: Sgt. Jonathan Peney, Marietta
* June 26, 2010: Sgt. David Holmes, Tennille
* July 1, 2010: Sgt. Johnny Lumpkin, Columbus
* July 3, 2010: Pfc. Jacob Dennis, Powder Springs
* July 13, 2010: SSgt. Sheldon Tate, Hinesville
* Aug. 17, 2010: SFC Edgar Roberts, Hinesville
* Aug. 27, 2010: SPC Chad Coleman, Moreland
* Nov. 12, 2010: SPC Shannon Chihuahua, Thomasville
* Nov. 29, 2010: Pfc. Austin Staggs, Senoia
* Mar. 21, 2011: Sgt. Brandon S. Hocking, Seattle (Wash.)
* Mar. 29, 2011: Pvt. Jeremy P. Faulkner, Griffin
* Apr. 4, 2011: Maj. Wesley J. Hinkley, Carlisle (Pa.)
* Apr. 5, 2011: SPC Gary L. Nelson, Woodstock
* Apr. 16, 2011: SSgt. Cynthia R. Taylor, Columbus

Marine Corps
* June 26, 2010: LCpl. William Richards, Trenton
* Sept. 1, 2010: LCpl. Christopher Rodgers, Griffin
* Sept. 17, 2010: 1st Lt. Scott Fleming, Marietta
* Oct. 6, 2010: Cpl. Stephen Sockalosky, Cordele
* Oct. 13, 2010: LCpl. Raymon Johnson, Midland
* Jan. 7, 2011: LCpl. Joseph R. Giese, Winder

* Sept. 21, 2010: SCPO David McLendon, Thomasville

In remembrance of the ultimate sacrifice made by fallen service members and their families, Gov. Deal ordered flags on all state buildings and grounds to remain at half-staff until noon Memorial Day.